Current Planets
    18-Jun-2018, 02:38 UT/GMT
    Explanations of the symbols
    Chart of the moment
| My Astro | Forum | FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Charts > Additional objects -> Traditional Astrology Options

  1. Description of the Traditional Astrology Options

    The following options for traditional astrology can be set:

    Uranus-Pluto off

    Some astrologers do not use the outer planets Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, which were discovered only in recent centuries and were unknown to ancient astrology. They only use the "classical seven planets", i.e. the Sun, the Moon, and Mercury through Saturn. For this reason we offer an option to turn off the new planets and calculate charts with only the classical planets.

    Please note that if this option is chosen then asteroids will not be shown either, even if they are selected under "Additional objects".

    Back to the overview list


    Each zodiac sign can be subdivided into three segments of 10°. These segments are called "decans" or "decanates" (from Greek deka, "ten"). Some authors also call them the "faces" of the zodiac signs (Latin facies, Greek πρόσωπον, Arabic وجه).

    A planet is assigned to each decan as its "ruler". In Arabic and Hellenistic astrology, the decans were also associated with star constellations and symbolical images. Astrodienst offers the following methods of the decans in the "Extended Chart Selection":

    Traditional Decans (based on triplicity)

    We call this method "traditional" because in modern astrology it is the most common one and therefore "has tradition". More correctly, it should be called "decans according to triplicity". The rulers of the decans are derived from the rulers of the signs of the same element (= triplicity, trigon, trine). The decan rulers of Aries are the rulers of Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius (thus Mars, the Sun, and Jupiter); the decan rulers of Taurus are the rulers of Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn (thus Venus, Mercury, and Saturn); etc. etc.

    The new planets Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto are also accepted as sign rulers in this system. However, if the option "Uranus-Pluto off" is chosen, then the classical sign rulers are used in their place, namely Saturn, Jupiter, and Mars.

    This method of decans is found in Indian texts of Late Antiquity. It seems to have been introduced in western Astrology only in the 20th century by the British astrologer Alan Leo.

    In this system, the decans have the following rulers:

    • Aries: Mars Sun Jupiter
    • Taurus: Venus Mercury Saturn
    • Gemini: Mercury Venus Uranus/Saturn
    • Cancer: Moon Mars Neptune/Jupiter
    • Leo: Sun Jupiter Mars
    • Virgo: Mercury Saturn Venus
    • Libra: Venus Uranus/Saturn Mercury
    • Scorpio: Pluto/Mars Neptune/Jupiter Moon
    • Sagittarius: Jupiter Mars Sun
    • Capricorn: Saturn Venus Mercury
    • Aquarius: Uranus/Saturn Mercury Venus
    • Pisces: Neptune/Jupiter Moon Pluto/Mars

    Chaldean Decans

    With this method, the rulers of the decans follow the order of the so-called "Chaldean planetary order", which was derived from the geocentric speeds of the planets:

    Saturn - Jupiter - Mars - Sun - Venus - Mercury - Moon

    The method was taught by the Greco-Egyptian astrologer Teucer "of Babylon" (3rd cent. CE) and the Roman astrologer Firmicus Maternus (4th cent. CE, Mathesis II.4). The system was transmitted to modern European astrology via the Arabic astrologer Abu Ma'shar, whose work was translated into Latin during the Renaissance.

    According to this system, the decans have the following rulers:

    • Aries: Mars Sun Venus
    • Taurus: Mercury Moon Saturn
    • Gemini: Jupiter Mars Sun
    • Cancer: Venus Mercury Moon
    • Leo: Saturn Jupiter Mars
    • Virgo: Sun Venus Mercury
    • Libra: Moon Saturn Jupiter
    • Scorpio: Mars Sun Venus
    • Sagittarius: Mercury Moon Saturn
    • Capricorn: Jupiter Mars Sun
    • Aquarius: Venus Mercury Moon
    • Pisces: Saturn Jupiter Mars

    Decans of Manilius

    With this method, a zodiac sign is assigned to each decan, in agreement with the order of the signs in the zodiac: The first three signs Aries, Taurus and Gemini are assigned to the decans of Aries, the next three signs, Cancer, Leo, and Virgo, are assigned to the decans of Taurus, etc. etc.

    This method first appears in the work of the Roman astrologer Manilius (1st cent. CE; Astronomica, IV.312ff.).

    In this system the decans have the following assignments:

    • Aries: Aries Taurus Gemini
    • Taurus: Cancer Leo Virgo
    • Gemini: Libra Scorpio Sagittarius
    • Cancer: Capricorn Aquarius Pisces
    • Leo: Aries Taurus Gemini
    • Virgo: Cancer Leo Virgo
    • Libra: Libra Scorpio Sagittarius
    • Scorpio: Capricorn Aquarius Pisces
    • Sagittarius: Aries Taurus Gemini
    • Capricorn: Cancer Leo Virgo
    • Aquarius: Libra Scorpio Sagittarius
    • Pisces: Capricorn Aquarius Pisces

    Back to the overview list

    The "Terms" of the Zodiac Signs

    Each zodiac sign is subdivided in five segments of variable size, and each of the segments is "ruled" by a planet. These segments are called the "terms" or "limits" or "bounds" of the sign. (Latin finis and terminus)

    Astrodienst offers the following three methods of the terms in the "Extended Chart Selection":

    Egyptian Terms

    12° 20° 25° 30°
    14° 22° 27° 30°
    12° 17° 24° 30°
    13° 19° 26° 30°
    11° 18° 24° 30°
    17° 21° 28° 30°
    14° 21° 28° 30°
    11° 19° 24° 30°
    12° 17° 21° 26° 30°
    14° 22° 26° 30°
    13° 20° 25° 30°
    12° 16° 19° 28° 30°

    Ptolemean Terms

    14° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 22° 26° 30°
    14° 21° 25° 30°
    13° 20° 27° 30°
    13° 19° 25° 30°
    13° 18° 24° 30°
    11° 19° 24° 30°
    14° 21° 27° 30°
    14° 19° 25° 30°
    12° 19° 25° 30°
    12° 20° 25° 30°
    14° 20° 26° 30°

    Chaldean Terms

    Attention! With night births, Mercury and Saturn are exchanged in this system.

    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°
    15° 21° 26° 30°

    Back to the overview list

As one of the largest astrology portals WWW.ASTRO.COM offers a lot of free features on the subject. With high-quality horoscope interpretations by the world's leading astrologers Liz Greene, Robert Hand and other authors, many free horoscopes and extensive information on astrology for beginners and professionals, www.astro.com is the first address for astrology on the web.
Homepage - Free Horoscopes - Astro Shop - Astrology Knowledge - Ephemeris - Authors and Staff - My Astro - Direct Atlas query - FAQ - Forum - Contact - Privacy Policy - Terms of use - Sitemap