Other Celestial Bodys

A Brief Introduction to Astrology

Besides the ten "classical" planets whose importance is recognized by all astrologers, there are several other heavenly bodies which are not all regarded as equally important by all astrologers. Chiron has been widely acknowledged. Some astrologers observe the greater asteroids, Ceres, Pallas, Juno and Vesta and include them in their interpretations. In addition to this, certain schools of astrology work with a series of so-called hypothetical planets, which cannot be related to any of the known celestial bodies. 

Retrograde Motion

If we look at our solar system "from above", all of the planets revolve around the sun in the same direction (anti-clockwise). However, since astrology views the planets as they are seen from the earth, some of the planets seem to be moving backwards at times. This would seem to be the case, when an outer, slow-moving planet such as Saturn is overtaken by the earth. When the planets are in retrograde motion, in other words, apparently moving backwards,  the astrological position is marked with an R. 

Whether this is of significance or not still gives rise to discussion. However, it can help us decide whether a particular aspect is still operative or not. (see also: Aspects).  The motion of the planets can also help us make decisions on other astrological matters. 

Other Parts and Points

Astrologers use a colorful collection of "points". These derive from points within the horoscope and are of symbolic significance, such as the "part of fortune" or the "Age Point". At present there is very little agreement amongst astrologers on the importance of these points, or on how meaningful they actually are. 

Lilith and the Moon's nodes are exceptions: these points are based on astronomical data and consequently find more acceptance in astrological circles. The moon’s nodes, which are always exactly opposed, are those points where the paths of the moon and the earth cross. Most astrologers see these points as being of karmic significance: The ascending or northern node is said to represent the spiritual development called for in this life, while the descending or southern node represents experience gathered during previous lives. Another point of view regards the northern node as a point of meeting, signifying important personal ties or connections, while the south node indicates separation. The well-known German astrologer Thomas Ring taught that the northern node shows where subconscious contents can become accessible, whereas the southern node shows where conscious awareness can sink back into the depths of the unconscious. 


Astro Wiki
Current Planets
21-Oct-2014, 12:23 UT/GMT
Venus27Libra3' 7"
Uranus13Aries58' 6"r
Explanations of the symbols
Chart of the moment
Astrologer watching the sky through a telescope, by Eugene Ivanov